Election Maps 2011: Chapel Hill Town Council

Something happens when I make these maps. So much time goes into pulling them together, I finish without the energy to engage in a lot of commentary. But I know the rest of you election geeks can do the job, so...

First, the table below shows the number of precincts in which the leading candidates came in first, second, third, and fourth places.

Candidate 1st 2nd 3rd 4th Total
Bell 11 4 7 0 22
Ward 4 7 5 6 22
Czajkowski 5 3 0 6 14
Storrow 2 8 5 6 21
Baker 0 0 3 4 7
DeHart 0 1 0 0 1

The maps are based on unofficial numbers from the Orange County Board of Elections as of November 8. Usual disclaimer: Because of the large number of early votes, the maps are inaccurate to the extent that early voters made different choices than people who voted on Election Day.

Donna Bell

View Larger Map

Jim Ward

View Larger Map

Matt Czajkowski

View Larger Map

Lee Storrow

View Larger Map

Jason Baker

View Larger Map

Jon DeHart

View Larger Map

Augustus Cho

View Larger Map

Laney Dale

View Larger Map

Carl Schuler

View Larger Map



the first thing that jumps out at me from is Matt and Lee's maps right beside each other look like inverted versions of each other in terms of boldness, with Matt winning more strongly in the edges and Lee winning more strongly in the center, and yet both were paths to victory.

Actually, Jake, the same is true for Donna's map in comparison with Matt's.  That pattern doesn't surprise me, except in that the pattern is so obvious.It's also interesting to note that Matt Cz and Jon DeHart ran particularly well in the Patterson precinct - presumably for reasons too obvious to mention. 

Thanks for doing this

I skipped right over the thanks and into comparing maps, but I do appreciate the work that went into pulling these together.  Thanks!!!


Community Guidelines

By using this site, you agree to our community guidelines. Inappropriate or disruptive behavior will result in moderation or eviction.


Content license

By contributing to OrangePolitics, you agree to license your contributions under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 United States License.

Creative Commons License

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.